Marriage Tribunal

The Cape Town Interdiocesan Tribunal is the Ecclesiastical Court of the Archdiocese of Cape Town. The Tribunal is charged with the administration of justice, as a court of first instance and as an appellate court, for matters of the public good brought before the Church. Although most cases brought before the Tribunal involve questions of marital nullity, the court is also competent to deal with penal matters.

Tel: 021 462-2417. Fax: 021 461-9330. E-mail:

Normal Business hours are between 8.30 am and 13.30 pm, Tuesday through Friday.

Judicial Vicar

Fr Noel Rucastle

Associate Judges

Mgr Jock Baird, Frs Peter-John Pearson, Edmund O’Neill SDB, John Keough, Paul Taylor, Raphael Thomas, Audecius Tindimwebwa, Peter Ziegler

Defenders of the Bond

Mgr Clifford Stokes, Frs Hugh O’Connor, Godfrey Solomon, Robert Bissell.

Promoter of Justice

Mgr Clifford Stokes


Ms Janine Canfield


Ms Janine Canfield, Ms Verona Mitchell, Ms Julia Reynolds

General questions concerning fees and administration can be addressed via e-mail or telephone.